Kingston Hall (left) and Grant Hall
Queen’s University was founded October 16, 1841, by a royal charter from Queen Victoria, for whom the college was named. Classes began March 7, 1842, in a rented building with two professors and 10 students. Originally intended as a college to train men for the ministry, it’s ties to the church eventually diminished, and by 1912, Parliament amended Queen’s charter to complete the separation of the university from the church.
Today, Queen’s University is one of the premier educational institutions in Canada, attracting many of the brightest students from across Canada and about 60 other countries.
For the tourist, the attractions of the university include the unique limestone architecture, the Agnes Etherington Art Center, and the Miller Geology Museum.
Door of old Douglas Library
University Avenue north of the university is the heart of the “student ghetto”. On sunny spring days, many students sit on their front porches and balconies to relax.